Presidential Spotlight - Celebrating Astronaut Scholars

Two college students and two men with face coverings talking near tree

Celebrating Astronaut Scholars

MSU President Mark E. Keenum (second from left) speaks with the university's two newest Astronaut Scholarship recipients Hannah Scheaffer of Ruston, Louisiana, (far left) and Zoe Fowler of Columbus (far right), near the "Moon Sycamore" tree on the west side of The Junction. Joining them is MSU alumnus Ray Gildea, whose family’s generous donation in 2017 enabled MSU’s continued partnership with the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation. MSU's Judy and Bobby Shackouls Honors College hosted an Oct. 15 celebratory luncheon for Scheaffer and Fowler, who are receiving two of 56 scholarships awarded this year across the nation.

Photo by Beth Wynn

October 15, 2020